Home General
Options

What are you Drinking while smoking your pipe today?

Comments

• Options
    Chasing the green fairy. (but not too far)

A new liquor store opened up in the strip mall where I work so after work I took a tour of the place just to see what they had in stock.  As I wandered the aisles looking at brands familiar and strange I spotted a legend. I've never tried absinthe before. 
    Absente was the only brand that came in a small bottle (100ml) so I decided to try it. A little research online yielded a rough recipe. 

I took a standard disposable plastic  cocktail glass, added 15ml of absinthe, slowly added cold water until the glass was half full and then added 30ml of simple syrup. Stir well and enjoy. 

The first impression of the taste was good and plenty candy from my youth. The predominant flavor is anise or licorice. The second impression was whoa this stuff is strong! At 110 proof even diluted this stuff has a kick. 

I paired it with a bowl of Maltese Falcon. It worked since the flavor of the spirit would have overrun a less flavorful tobacco. I think I might try it with Key Largo next time. 
  • Options
    I've found American sold Absinthe to be inferior to the European versions, which have more wormwood, but are harder to find (in US).

Good absinthe will not get you "drunk" but it will get you what the kids call "stoned," and I call stuporous; slumped me in a chair for a good period of time..... >:)
  • Options
    Oh my goodness what an experience! If I were younger I would do quite a bit more of this, but my A1C's and my blood sugar level won't allow it these days. I will on occasion. As I said, "What an EXPERIENCE!"
  • Options
    @Ron191