Home Pipes & Tools

Estate Sale - Flee Market - Garage Sale Finds

Comments

• @KA9FFJ
    No problem. I've been doing estate pipe restorations for around six years and I found it pays to be knowledgeable about the pipes before you go into the shops or at least have reference sites bookmarked. I've been burned a couple of times buying what I thought were Sasieni's or Dunhill's that turned out be lesser brands. 

An interesting connection between Dunhill and Sasieni exists. When Dunhill first got into the pipe and tobacco business, they just did pipe repairs and sold briar pipes that were made in France. Alfred Dunhill wasn't happy with the quality and started having Dunhill pipes made by Charatan, where Joel Sasieni worked. Around 1910, Dunhill convinced Sasieni to come work for him making the first of the famous Dunhill pipes. The White Spot first appeared on Dunhill stems in 1912.

Sasieni left Dunhill around 1919 and started his own pipe shop. He thought he could improve on some of the processes used at Dunhill, one of which was how he cured the pipes by baking them in an oven to remove all the moisture instead of using an oil cure treatment. He also decided to use a single blue dot on the stem. This caused numerous lawsuits filed by Dunhill.

There are a lot of other pipes out there with a single dot. I don't know the history behind them or why Dunhill never sued them.

• @PappyJoe VERY interesting.
    Tnx for sharing. If I would have bought it under the pretense of being a Sasieni second, I would have been upset. As it is, I just bought the pipe as a package deal, so no harm done.
    Again, thanks so much for setting me straight... my wife is right, I need it...🥴
  • Only slightly off topic: