Home Pipes & Tools
Options

Pipe shopping

I love my Missouri meerschaum hardwood but would like to try a different pipe. Being im still a newb I'd rather not spend more than $40 or so. I am ok with estate pipes. I appreciate the input.

Comments

• Options
    Pipesandcigars.com has some different pipes available for around $40. I think you can find a Stanwell Brushed Black or Brown pipe for around that price there. There have been some issues with their shipping as of late, but it might be all sorted out for you by the time you order.
  • Options
    PhilipPhilip Enthusiast
    As long as you take the time and break it in correctly a forty dollar pipe should serve you well. If you are talking about a briar it is not going to behave like your cob, so keep that in mind.

I got a Dr. Grabow not too long ago for around that price range and it has turned out to be a pretty good smoker.
  • Options

For the money, and the price range you are looking to spend, a cob is going to be hard to beat. I would look on ebay at the cob offerings there, or check out Scott's offerings at Aristocob. The Dagner is a quality cob, with a silver band, and a higher grade acrylic stem than the standard plastic stem. Going for around $25, you could have 2 if you are willing to spend just a little more.

One thing I would have done differently when I first started pipe smoking/collecting, is that I would have refrained from buying lower quality briar pipes, and focused on cobs exclusively, until I could afford to purchase a higher quality briar, with some quality stem work.

When you take into consideration that quality materials to carve a briar usually start at around $35 to $50, it's not hard to understand by the time a carver invests the time in his labor, the pipe usually goes for $75 and up.

• Options
    $40 is not a whole lot, but you might try these. Dig around
     http://www.briarblues.com/hall.htm
    https://www.smokershaven.com/estate-pipes/