Home Ask an Expert
Options

PIPES FROM THE TEST OF TIME

Hello pipe and tobacco aficionados, hope all is well and everyone is being safe out there. Here is a pipe subject that most of you (P&T) loving professionals may have answered many times and in many different ways during your pipe smoking experiences, no matter how many pipes you may own. I "THINK" this may generate and stimulate some old and new responses. So here we go, how many days can you or have you smoked the "same pipe", not pipe  tobacco, but the same pipe. How did your pipe handle the constant smoking pressure from the everyday and all day use. Did the quality of the pipe smoked have anything to do with the success or failure of your pipe during that time. The very first pipe I ever owned was smoked all day, every day. I was a student at the Univ. with no money and a very cheap pipe and I still have that "Tinder Box" basket pipe today and it is still blowing smoke. :-) Remember, smoke what you like and like what you smoke. Be Safe

Comments

• Options
    In the past I smoked the same aromatic and had a few pipes but usually a favorite that wouldn't get much rest and seldom more than a pipe cleaner between smokes. Now I mainly smoke English and Virginia flakes and have many pipes. They get cleaned out after every smoke, reamed regularly, are generally dedicated to a particular tobacco or tobacco type, and, rested at least twenty four hours. Such are the quirks of growing old!
  • Options
    My grandfather was a pipe smoker and while he had three or four different pipes, he would usually smoke the same ones all day long. I remember him smoking his pipe until he dumped the ash and then refill it and light it again. He died in 1979 and I still have one of his Yello-Bole briars and it is still smokeable. 
  • Options