Home Tobacco Talk
Options

No more McClelland?

Been reading that McClelland is about to shut down due to lack of quality Virginia tobacco. Is this true? I haven't even had the opportunity to try their stuff yet. I was about to order some Frog Morton Cellar. But I don't want to really like it and eventually it not be available anymore. Anyone know anything on this?

Comments

• Options
    I have been seeing this on another forum , and it is a rumour. They are not going to have the red virgina due to not finding a crop that meets their standards. Mike and Mary have high standards for their products and do not want to put an inferior one out. McClelland is not shutting down, just not going to have 5100.
  • Options
    @Jayhawk422 appreciate the response. I am fairly new to the pipe and want to try as much as possible. Had a discussion earlier about transitioning from aro to non and a lot of people mentioned McClelland
  • Options
    @BlueCollarBastard, no problem glad to be of help. Just like high school the internet is flush with rumors and everyone is quick to go off the deepend. With the FDA regulations, followed by Dunhill going away seems to spark things quickly. 

I live in the KC area and Mike McNeil is a member of the pipe club, and still going strong. They have many great blends, try their Beacon blend for a good VaPer or Beacon Extra if you like more Perique .
  • Options
    ocpunk714ocpunk714 Master
    edited February 2018
    I just heard their red Virginia blends were no longer going to be available. The Country Squire Radio did an episode about it at the beginning of this year.

https://itunes.apple.com/us/podcast/country-squire-radio/id687803579?mt=2&i=1000399480546
  • Options
    motie2motie2 Master
    edited February 2018
    http://technopow.com/2018/01/tobacco-pipe-market/

Tobacco Pipe Market Emerging Trends and Demands 2018 to 2022   (long and detailed)

TechnoPOW (blog)-Jan 14, 2018