Home The Lounge
Options

Creative Corner: Share your creative/artistic outlet

2»

Comments

• Options
    Here's my newest creation.  A name plaque. Made exclusively with,  and only with,  hand tools.  A draw knife,  hand plane, hatchet, and hand saw.  Was going to use the board for the pipe rack i was designing but the surface had too much knots and imperfections.  From log to lumber.  
  • Options
    Great basic tools, I have not seen in a while......
  • Options
    @motie2 i love everything about traditional wood working.  I want to,  before my time is up,  build a boat.  All by hand.  All from logs.  
  • Options
    @Jayhawk422 I agree, many of the members here have amazing woodworking talent. I kick myself in the ass all the time when I consider I could have taken Wood Shop in High School and at least got a fundamental education in the craft - and possibly went on from there to develop further skills. But instead I majored in Business Courses ... and ended up working in a steel mill. What a waste. Thankfully at the end of my career at The Mill I had an office job and those business skills did help. But I still wish I had taken Wood Shop.
  • Options
    @BlueCollarBastard -- Go for it!! Realize your dream!

I had a dear friend in Oregon, who fulfilled his long time dream..... the guy built a boat, whose hull was almost completely made from cast concrete. It was ugly as hell, but Kurt loved it and took it out on Coos Bay  a couple of times while I was visiting him. He also had a goat as a pet: looking into a goat's eyes -- rectangular pupils -- was a real trip.
  • Options
    I started my dream job last fall as artistic director for a small theatre in my town. I’ve been directing designing and building like a madman. These aren’t official production photos but ones I’ve taken at random points in rehearsals. These are from Sweeney Todd which I did tech, construction and lighting design for.
  • Options