Home The Lounge

Driving & Pipe Smoking

Comments

• Back when I was a Tig Welder and worked a local job, I did some pipe smoking on the drive to and from work. I felt it distracted my driving, mainly while I was trying to tamp. The frustration led me to eventually realize that I was not experiencing the relaxation that I usually get while smoking and not in a vehicle.

Nowdays if I smoke while driving, it is always a cigar. If I get the cigar lit properly, I rarely ever need to even it up with the torch, and it's a much more relaxing experience for me.

• @xDutchx I usually do my relights when I stop, I DG a pipe when out of the car and light up when I'm rolling again. The pipe relaxes me if I'm stuck in traffic. I don't smoke cigars any more even though I started smoking with them when I was in the 8th grade (Havatampa Jewels, 5 cents each.)
  • @Woodsman, I hate to break it to you, but I've got you beat. Here I am reading Hemingway and smoking a Cuban at the tender age of 4.......

• @xDutchx, wow!!!  I think you even started sporting the beard as well
  • @Londy3, Yep, I like to think that my early start led to early facial and chest hair. Nowdays, hair doesn't grow where it is supposed to, and has started growing in places where it is a real nuisance. I still have my inspection mirror and an old set of Klein's left over from my days as a Tig Welder that I try to stay on top of the situation with.
  • I had an elderly neighbor who -- I swear -- could have braided his ear hair.
  • Londy3Londy3 Master
    edited September 2017
    LMAO guys... your killin me..