Home Tobacco Talk
Options

Dr. Bradly Mixture et al

I'm sure this has been discussed before, maybe multiple times, but it's on my radar screen today so indulge me.  Here it goes:  drug store blends such as Carter Hall, SWR, etc are undoubtedly part of the rite of passage for pipe smokers.  I'm still a newbie, but in the 8 or 9 months I've been smoking, everything is new to me.  I was given Dr. Bradley by a veteran of the hobby and have to say it is one of the most enjoyable blends I've tried to date, partly because of the flavor, partly because this newbie doesn't have to relight 50 times like I seem to have to with everything else I smoke (I'm getting better at it though).  While I suppose technically not a drug store blend since it's sold by Iwan Ireis, I'm looking forward to trying Carter Hall, which everyone seems to like.  I'm curious to know if you've tried a "drug store" blend, if it's part of your daily rotation, why you like it, etc.  Fire away!

Comments

• Options
    In my early days, Borkum Riff and Capt. Black were over-the-counter (OTC)/drugstore blends. So were Half &Half, Prince Albert, Carter Hall, Mixture 79 and Middleton's Cherry. Some people have elevated Capt. Black and Borkum Riff above the OTC level but that is still what it basically is.

I smoked them because they were what I could get easily aboard ship. Then I fell under the wing of an older pipe smoker who started introducing me to the jars of tobacco at a local pipe shops. I pretty much stopped smoke the OTCs because the bulk blends were better. Then I progressed from bulk blends to tins.  

I do have some Carter Hall and Half & Half in my cellar but they are not in my daily rotation. I use the Carter Hall mainly to break-in a new pipe or an estate pipe that I've just clean. I will occasionally smoke Half & Half if I'm going to be doing yard work.