Home General
Options

Don't wish me a "Happy Memorial" Day.

p.p1 {margin: 0.0px 0.0px 0.0px 0.0px; font: 12.0px 'Minion Pro'}
p.p2 {margin: 0.0px 0.0px 0.0px 0.0px; font: 12.0px 'Minion Pro'; min-height: 14.0px}

I don’t want to offend anyone but do me a favor. Don’t wish me a Happy Memorial Day. It is not a “happy” holiday.

Wish me a Happy Father’s Day. I’m good with Happy Birthday or Happy Anniversary. I wish my wife a Happy Mother’s Day every year. (I am confused by Happy Easter but I will concede that it’s a religious holiday which some celebrate as a happy occasion.)

Thank me for my service on Veteran’s Day. I’m good with that as I’m a veteran and it’s the appropriate time for thanking all veterans. 

But don’t expect me to reply when you say, “Happy Memorial Day.” It’s not a day for rejoicing.

Memorial Day is not an excuse for BBQ’s, Beach parties, getting stinking drunk, playing baseball or attending the Indianapolis 500. Or a combination of any of the above.

Again, I apologize if I offend anyone, but Memorial Day is not about dead celebrities or politicians. 

(While it was not originally about Police Officers or Fire Fighters, I can’t think of a better day to remember those who have died in the line of duty also)

Memorial Day is about remembering those serving in the United States Military who have died while performing their duties. It’s about remembering what they sacrificed so that you can have your picnic and toss back a few drinks. It’s about quietly remembering that other families have missing pieces to their parties that can never be replaced.

If you want to observe Memorial Day, might I suggest visiting a national or state Veteran’s Cemetery?  They are unfortunately filled with brave heroes who gave their lives because the country asked them to. 

You don’t have to say, “Happy Memorial Day” to them. A simple “Thank You for your sacrifice” will do.

Comments

• Options