Home The Lounge
Options

Hello. My name is Dino & I have TAD.

Being the relative noob here @ TPL, I realize that my modest pipe stable
and tobacco crawl space (not big enough to be a cellar :P ) are really nothing more than a "good start" compared to the briar & leaf collection many of you here have amassed.

Not being one to shy away from a challenge I am doing my dead level best to correct this.

A
month or so ago I was perusing ebay looking for "tobacco jars".  I
wanted a couple of good sized jars for some of my fave's, ya know, MM
965, Frog Morton, Margate, etc...

Well I happened upon a fella in
PA that was selling 29 Anchor Hocking Tobacco Jars.  The seller didn't
want to ship em, and to be frank, he was asking too much for them to
begin with.  (Ya'll know I'm a csob right?)  This guy has an ebay store
and is always buying inventory from stores that are going out or are
outta business.  Over a few days we exchanged several emails and talked
on the phone a couple of times.

Oh, did I mention that most of
these jars still have tobacco in em?  Yup, he bought 29 jars from a C.B.
Perkins that went outta business.  He's not a pipe smoker and told me
that he was probably just gonna "Throw the Stuff Out"!  :o   I know right?!?!?  (I think he could sense my TADness over the phone and was just messin with me)

I
had him open a couple of the jars and check the tobacco, he stated that
it didn't seem dried out at all and some of them were surprisingly
moist.  I know, I know, what the heck does this guy know right? 
Regardless, the tobacco, if it's smokeable, is just a bonus, I was
really after the jars.

Oh, and it just so happens that my 24 y.o.
son Seth was on an assignment up there, not more than an hour from
where this fella was located, so there goes my "how in the heck am I
gonna get these without driving 8 hours each way" problem".

So,
over the last month or so I've been kinda keepin an eye on things up in