Home Ask an Expert
Options

Mason Jars - Glass or Plastic?

Experts, tell me please if you think plastic mason jars will impart a "plastic" taste to tobaccos stored in them for long periods.  I know home brewers swear by glass carbouys (which I use myself) but was wondering if any of you use plastic jars for aging tobaccos?  Thanks for your input.

Comments

• Options
    I'm no expert, but I know that Tupperware style containers DO ghost. However, I have found that if washed with baking soda, and allowed to air out for a period of time, I cannot detect any ghost.

I suspect you may be referring to the bail style plexiglass jars that are available nowdays. I have used those for storing blends that I have in current rotation, but I have never trusted the container and seal for long term aging.

As far as a plastic taste that I can detect when smoking the tobacco that I have stored in them, I have never been able to detect any off flavors. However, some folks have a more sensitive palate than others, and tend to be the best candidates for writing tobacco reviews.
  • Options
    Smokers have suggested that plastic sealed bags can also change the flavor of a tobacco so I would assume the same may hold true for plastic jars as well. A chemical break-down between the tobacco and the plastic. 
  • Options
    I have 2 plastic Mason Jars that I have kept tobacco in, I split a pound of an English Blend in one plastic and one glass. I didn't do it to test. When I opened the plastic one the seal offered no resistance so I opened the glass one too, the glass one was tighter. In 2 years the plastic one's contents seem dryer. I changed the tobacco over to a glass jar and I use the plastic ones for short term storage. I noticed no plastic taste, but I don't use them for long term cellaring.
  • Options
    Excellent points.  Thanks
  • Options
    Why even ask? 

Glass and a fresh rubber seal.      [Awkward phrasing    -10 points]
  • Options