Home Ask an Expert
Options

What to expect from the first smoke?

Hi everyone,

I'm brand new to the world of pipe smoking, just received my first pipe and tobacco the other day. My question is simple: What should I expect from my first smoke? The tobacco I chose is Frog Morton's On the Town, I packed a good size half bowl into my Stanwell De Luxe 88, it smoked for about 30-40 minutes, had to relight once but it seemed difficult to keep it lit after I smoked about half of what I packed. Maybe it wasn't packed down enough? Also had a peppery kind of sensation on the tongue, is that what we call tongue bite or was that just the tobacco flavors talking? How much smoke should I be seeing from taking draws? If I'm seeing real heavy clouds of smoke, am I smoking too hot? The bowl was slightly warm but nothing too extreme; I thought that should be expected seeing that there hasn't been a build up of cake yet.

Just looking for general comments on what one is to expect from the first smoke and smokes to follow.

Thanks fellow pipe smokers!

Comments

• Options
    Welcome to pipe smoking.

The first things every new smoker should expect is tongue bite, relights and not getting all the tobacco smoked to white ash. So I think you have it covered.

The following are my opinions, others may have different ones.
    1 It will take you a while to get the packing down to where you can smoke a full bowl. There are many different ways to pack a bowl and you will just have to try them until you find the ones you like. Some like to stick the pipe in a pouch and scoop tobacco into the bowl. Some like to pinch the tobacco between the thumb and forefinger and pack it in a little at a time. There are other ways so keep experimenting until you find what you like.