Home Tobacco Talk
Options

Tin Note - Important or Meh?

Lots n lots of reviews of tobacco blends often refer to tin notes (or bag notes if its bulk).  I'm still relatively new to pipe smoking, so please forgive the ignorance...   is tin note that big of a deal?

I would understand if the tin note smelled like burning trash, that would put anyone off but really, the tin note doesn't seem to be of much importance.  What am I missing?   - Regards, Matthew

Comments

• Options
    PhilipPhilip Enthusiast
    Of course when smoking a pipe you really can't smell it anymore but taste and smell are connected. The smell you get from the tin is a hint of what's to come. I don't think it's exactly like taking a big whiff of your steak before digging in, but you can get a lot of information. You might have to go to extremes to see it at first. for example if you had an vanilla aromatic for example next to something with a lot of Latakia in it, the differences would be striking, just like the tastes are. Soon the subtle differences will stand out, and you can pick up the differences even before you strike a match.

I wouldn't want to sit down for a nice smoke and not be able to smell that wonderful smell before hand. I think it's part of the whole experience. 
  • Options
    I find tin note seldom predicts how a tobacco blend will smoke (taste). 
    It's usually more reflective of the eventual room note. Or at least that's been my experience.
  • Options