Home General
Options

Pipe Tobacco Hype or Extinct

Hiker007Hiker007 Enthusiast
I am new to smoking pipes and I am really enjoying it. However, I keep hearing about new regulations and shortages of pipe tobacco. Is this all hype? Do I have anything to worry about? Have I entered into a hobby that is soon to be extinct?

Comments

• Options
    SimpleSimple Newcomer
    I hear ya. Newb here too.

I asked the same question at a local shop and got into an excellent conversation with a gentleman (who is easily in his 90's) that told me pipe smoking has been around for thousands of years. In his time he saw attempted tobacco regulations (taxes mostly) come and go and never worried. But, he noted, since people are no longer willing to stand up to the regulators they deserve to lose what they love.

I didn't expect that to come from an employee or owner of a tobacco shop but I agree 100%.
  • Options
    dbh1950dbh1950 Newcomer
    Hiker007,
    As to pipe smoking being extinct, there is legislation that may have an impact, I have yet to find a clear explanation. I sign a petition to my Senators, one responded, the other did not. The response I dud receive was ckear as mud. One point was to do with tge current vaping and young persons, nothing about pipes or pipe tobacco. Perhaps STG could respond to this query. By the way, welcome, I have been a pipe smoker since 1975, it has been one hobby I always felt a level of achievement with, can't say the same about fly fishing. 

• Options
    The only tobaccos which could possible go away are those which entered the retail market after 2007. Whether that happens or not is still subject to a few law suits and proposed legislation to rein in the FDA. The question about whether new pipes will be available after 2018 is also subject to the same law suits and legislation. It could also be overturned in President Trump would sign an executive order instructing the FDA to either change it's Deeming rule or to not enforce it.