Home Tobacco Talk
Options

Mac Baren - HH Old Dark Fired (flake) vs HH Old Dark Fired Ready Rubbed

Greetings, as the title suggests, I would like to know your opinion(s) about which HH Old Dark Fired is your preferred tobacco and why.  I have 8oz of the Ready Rubbed on order and I am beginning to second guess myself on whether I ordered the right one.  (I tend to dive right in a little too soon rather than sample a little before I order a lot.)  - Regards, Matthew

Comments

• Options
    I haven't had the ready rubbed but do have a tin of the flakes and really enjoy them. I have been smoking flakes more in general lately and am becoming partial to them. I find them to be more flavorful.
  • Options
    SERENTILSERENTIL Newcomer
    @saintbubbles, thank you for the input!  I'm still relatively new to pipe smoking and I am enjoying it IMMENSELY! 
    I imagine there might be some flavor lost when the flakes are rubbed out? Do you smoke them in a particular pipe (or pipe shape)? 
  • Options
    @serentil I'm new also so take this for what it's worth. I've read that flakes work best in pipes with smaller bowls. I have a couple medium sized cobs I use and the ODF smokes great in them. I have a Rossi Rubino billiard I also use. It gets a little hot but that could be me smoking too fast but I like smoking the ODF in it also.

As far as flake versus ready rubbed and flavor loss I only have experience with Pete Stokkeby Luxury Bullseye Flake. I bought an ounce of the coins and it was fantastic. I use the fold and stuff method when packing my pipe with it. The flavor changes as it hits the Virginia, Peirque and black Cavendish. I bought some already rubbed out from someone online. While it's still good I don't find myself reaching for it as much as did the coins.