Home General
Options

Designers and/or engineers Anyone here do either?

So does anyone here design stuff or build stuff? 
Did you go to college or Technical school for it or are you self taught?
Do you do it for work? Friends? or just for yourself?

I have a nephew going to College for Engineering and my friends Son went to Technical School for CAD and some Engineering but he learned on his own, works at a manufacturing plant and then took classes for it. 
Personally I have worked in machine shops and also built houses long ago and I like to draw, if I had a good CAD or Designing program I think I would do good at it but I have never once took a class on any of it, I am a hands on type guy.  I have drawn out designs for my garage, my house and a few other buildings, I have designed all kinds of equipment and even made an engine test stand.  If I had my health, a good program, material and tools I could make just about anything I put my mind to making.
So what about you guys? Do you build stuff? Do you design stuff? Have you gone to School for it?

Comments

• Options
    I am an Architectural Designer, a former partner in a mid sized AE firm, and at this time describe myself as "semi retired". That term is a joke in that I think I work more hours now than any other time in my life but make a lot less money. I now work mainly as a 1099 sub contractor to other Architects with whom I have history.  The nice part is that I work from my home office, and choose what hours and days I work. Truth be known, I can work in my underwear should I decide to, and the Keurig coffee machine in the kitchen and a bathroom are both withing 15-20 seconds away.