Home Tobacco Talk
Options

Frog Morton's Cellar

Greetings TPL Friends, due to the FDA's draconian tobacco regulations that will eventually take effect, I may lose my favorite pipe tobacco, Frog Morton's Cellar.  I am a relative newb in pipe smoking so I haven't tried whole of different tobaccos but I do know that I like the English (Latakia) tobaccos.  Frog Morton's Cellar seems unique to me with the subtle but noticeable inclusion of the whisky barrel square.  Perhaps its just a gimmick but, in any case, I like it.

So, if/when the FDA axe falls, it is possible but unlikely that McClelland is going to pay the ransom to save Frog Morton's Cellar and it will disappear from the market.  I'll stock up until it does happen but, eventually, I will run out. 

Does anyone have any suggestions for me for any tobaccos with similar qualities as the Frog Morton's Cellar or any suggestion for trying another nice English blend? 

Regards, Matthew

Comments

• Options
    Sillem's London. Peretti 7485. Esoterica Margate.

The Peretti has been around for nearly a century....so no worries from the FDA.
  • Options
    SLCarricoSLCarrico Apprentice
    Stokkebye's Proper English is delicious and affordable. I'm also a big fan of C&D's Mountain Camp, also available in bulk.
    Off hand I don't know the age of these blends, but they are cheap enough in bulk to stock up a large amount.
    Honestly, I have hope that the FDA thing will either peter out, or turn around soon (a couple of years or so).
    But I'm on the same track as you: stock up on my favorites and start finding alternative blends that should stick around.
  • Options
    PhilipPhilip Enthusiast
    Matthew,