Home General
Options

Any Archery people?

I'm getting more into Bow Hunting and was just looking for any pointers, that anyone could share.  I've shot some before and some growing up but I'm no expert by any means.

Comments

• Options
    I am no expert myself but I do enjoy bow hunting, as for tips i would have to say when just starting out opt for a bow that you can feel comfortable holding at full draw which means it may be a little larger and a slower shot. but accuracy is key and shorter faster bows tend to have a stiffer draw. Never give up accuracy for speed.  Dont try to hold your sight pin dead on the bulls eyes let it kinda float, it will tighten your groups and when practiceing eye the shaft all the way to the target [ through the sight bracket it will stop you from dropping your arm. other than that just practice practice and moe practice. good luck
  • Options
    My next door neighbor is quite a successful Bow Hunter( And rifle, shotgun, Black Powder, ewtc..) : licensed in 3 states. She always use a tree stand with the bow and packs her freezer every year.
  • Options
    Use small game heads and hunt squirrel and/or rabbit in the off-season.

Also, if you are deer hunting:
    1. Don't use urine-based scents. (Game and Fish Commissions are suspicious that they may be helping to spread Chronic Wasting Disease.)
    2. DO use lye soap (which can be bought online or at farmers' markets, craft shows, etc.) It will help neutralize your human scent and repel insects.
  • Options

Try to get as clean as possible before bowhunting, and wash your clothing in a non scented soap. Baking soda works great, without all the gimmicks.