Home Ask an Expert
Options

Pipe tobacco rotation guidelines

When folks talk about a tobacco rotation what are some of the common practices? A couple questions in particular are how many bowls of tobacco do you smoke before moving to the next tobacco in the rotation? One bowl, one day, one week? How many tobaccos are typically in the rotation? I'm fairly new to the hobby and looking for some general guidelines any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Comments

• Options
    dstribdstrib Apprentice
    Going to follow this one. I usually just smoke what I have on had at the time or what is just calling my name when I look at the tobacco on hand.
  • Options
    drac2485drac2485 Professor
    @dcollar love ke @dstrib I normally just smoke what's speaking to me at the time
  • Options
    KirbybKirbyb Newcomer
    It's a moving target for me. I have at least a dozen open tins, I try to finish one before opening another just to keep it under control. Sometimes I make my choice on the spot, other times I dream about what my next smoke will be. I keep it as far away from regimented as possible
  • Options
    Whatever works for you - there are no right or wrong answers. I've probably got 20 blends in rotation. Tinned blends get moved into glass jars shortly after opening. I always end the day with a lat blend.
  • Options
    I like burley heavy in the morning, Danish at midday (it is hot here) and VaBur or VaBurPer in the evening. In-betweeners get mixed up, especially if I'm driving.
  • Options
    mhajecmhajec Enthusiast
    Im with the majority here, I smoke whatever I'm drawn to at the time. I do tend to gravitate more to English blends in the winter time though, something about those leathery, woodsy flavors that really bring it out in me when it's cold.
  • Options
    drac2485drac2485 Professor
    I smoke more light aromatics and Virginias in the summer and the heavier stuff like some Lat bombs in the winter
  • Options
    dcollardcollar Newcomer