Home Ask an Expert
Options

Soaking Pipe Stems in Oxyclean

One of the things I do when cleaning pipes and removing oxidation from the stems is to do a soak in an Oxyclean solution.
Without the pipe stems in the jar, the solution just sits there. With the stems in the jar, you can see the solution at work.

https://youtu.be/VCmutHEhxgE

Comments

• Options
    rumrum4merumrum4me Professor
    I've been doing the same for a few years Pappy. Some think it's worthless, but I feel it makes it easier to remove the oxidation. I usually use some XXXX steel wool on the stem while it's still wet with the solution. Rinse in water, dry it off and run a pipe cleaner through it and let it set for a little bit before starting with the sandpaper or micromesh pads.
  • Options
    @rumrum4me

I use the micromesh pads starting with a 3200 and working my way up to 12000. The 3200 pad I use wet. After the stem dries, I apply a coat of the Brebbia Pipe Polish and let it dry before polishing it off with the 3600, 6000, 8000 and 12000 pads. I've been told I could skip a pad or two but I like to be thorough. 

After rinsing in water, I like to apply some toothpaste to about a 1/3rd of a wet pipe cleaner and run it back and forth through the stem several times. I use a bristle pipe cleaner most of the time for this and follow it up with just a wet soft pipe cleaner and then another rinse.

After all that, I take the stem to my buffer and polish it more with green buffing compound I bought from Mark Tinsky followed by a light application of carnauba wax. 

My final step is to apply a coat of Obsidian oil, let it dry and buff it with a soft cloth.

Some of this may be overkill, but I like to be sure.
  • Options
    I wish I had someone explain it that well when I first started restoring pipes. I may have to adapt a few of your methods @PappyJoe
  • Options