Home Ask an Expert
Options

Weeping

One of my favorite pipes is an old Wellington that I’ve had for many years.  It’s a smooth, bent pipe with a curved stem much like a Peterson P-lip.  I’ve been smoking it regularly for the last 30 years or so.

The problem is that the pipe has recently begun weeping.  By this I mean that tobacco residue is seeping through the bowl to the outside of the pipe.  I’ve occasionally had this happen with a corncob, but I don’t recall ever having this issue with a briar.

If it were a cob, I’d just throw it in the trash and buy a new one.  However, this pipe is an old friend and I really can’t see myself doing that.  Do I have any options here, or do I simply have to admit that this pipe is history?

Comments

• Options
    @Topaz75 I don't think I've ever heard of this before. Is it possible there is a hairline crack on the bottom of the bowl where the fluids could be seeping out. If that's the case it seems like you might be able to alleviate the problem with a coating of pipe mud in the bowl. Sounds like the pipe needs a good year or so vacation in a warm dry location to get all that excess moisture out.
  • Options
    I don't think I could add anything more to what ghostsofpompeii said, never had a pipe that long,understand your feelings about the pipe. Good luck,I'm sure their is a way to restore the pipe.
  • Options
    @ghostsofpompeii  Thanks very much for your suggestions. There are no signs of a crack in the pipe that I can see. I did rest the pipe for two weeks before picking it up again yesterday. I’ll pull it from the rotation and leave it in a warm area to dry out for a longer period of time, as you have recommended. If the problem persists, I’ll whip up a batch of pipe mud and try lining the bowl.
  • Options