Home Ask an Expert
Options

Restoring Estates...Tips and Advice

Got tips or advice for restoring estate pipes? Share it with us!

Comments

• Options
    LostMasonLostMason Apprentice
    Best tip I picked up is to use salt and white vinager to rid a pipe of ghosts rather than alcohol.
    Also to use clear fingernail polish to build up a loose tenon and then lightly sand it to fit snuggly.
  • Options
    KcwarthogKcwarthog Newcomer
    I use OxyClean when removing oxidization on vulcanite stems. I just put some hot water in a clear glass and a tablespoon of OxyClean and leave it set overnight.
    Next day its all black again then I buff it to a shine.
  • Options
    drac2485drac2485 Professor
    I am relatively new to restoring estate pipes as I have just recently started buying them.  I have found that Decatur makes some good products but generally I just use Everclear, a ton of pipe cleaners, paper towels, q-tips, and a pipe reamer for cleaning.  I still fight with oxidation on stems but plan on trying the OxyClean trick as I keep hearing about it.
  • Options
    Great advice guys!
  • Options
    BoatsnBoatsn Newcomer
    What's a preferred and steril way of cleaning the stem of an estate pipe, I have been getting some at yard sales and am uncertain on how to get them ready for me to smoke, I go to a smoke shop about 50 miles away to have my repair work done, I guess I could ask them what to do, all suggestions will be greatly appreciated, thanks
  • Options
    @Boatsn - what I have done that I feel comfortable with is to take a pipe cleaner and soak it in Everclear. I insert it into the stem and then move it back and forth for  three or four times. After that I put the stem with the cleaner still inserted into a storage back and let it sit for an our or so.

after that I do the Oxi-Clean method described above.
  • Options
    BoatsnBoatsn Newcomer
    @PappyJoe, thanks Pappy I will give that a shot
  • Options