Home Tobacco Talk
Options

Can someone suggest an "Earthy" blend please?

When I smoked cigars there was a particular blend that I described as "earthy".  It smelled like rich potting soil, with notes of coffee and cocoa in it (not leather).  Oliva made some maduros that were like this for a while, but then changed his blend to something less potent.
Is there a pipe tobacco that can be described in a similar manner?

Comments

• Options
    Londy3Londy3 Master
    I am no expert but I do have good taste.  One to try would be HH Dark Kentucky flake. Its pretty strong but i like the taste and the tin note.
  • Options
    Londy3Londy3 Master
    Here is a picture of the tin, i thought it would help identify it. 
    HH Bold Kentucky
  • Options
    mfresamfresa Master
    Thanks for the suggestion, guys.  I'll investigate.
  • Options
    motie2motie2 Master
    https://www.pipesandcigars.com/shop/mcclelland-cigar-blends-brand/1701962/

McClelland Cigar Blends Dominican Glory Maduro -- unlike any other tobacco you've tried. Matured, tangy red flue-cured leaf is combined with lemon virginia that has been stoved black. To this combination, McClelland adds Dominican maduro cigar leaf, and then the mixture is pressed into cakes for further maturation and the marrying of the flavors.  The flakes allow for a variety of preparations, and the rich taste and creaminess is sublime.

McClelland Cigar Blends Dominican Glory -- a whole new experience in pipe smoking. The leathery, woodsy character of aged Dominican cigar leaf is expertly combined with matured Virginias to add sweetness and zest. The resulting blend is totally unique and a wonderful chamge of pace for pipe and cigar fanciers alike.

• Options
    motie2motie2 Master
    @mfresa -- The following blends are often described as tasting,  "....like a cigar." 

GL Pease - Robusto
    Cornell & Deihl - Billy Budd
    Cornell & Deihl - Habana Daydream
    Cornell & Deihl - Purple Cow