Home General

Is your town famous for something?

2»

Comments

• This is a great thread that I somehow missed back in September! I was raised in Bradford,PA, home of the Zippo lighter and Case knives. I later moved to Olean, NY, home of Alcas Cutlery. Now I live in Topeka, KS, famous for sheer boredom and the nut jobs of Westboro Baptist Church. 

• @Kmhartle - Case and Zippo in one town! Two American classics!

Georgia coast is where I am. I suppose the best we can do for “famous” are the sea islands (Jekyll and St. Simons) and then the Okefenokee Swamp just inland. Some nitwits with dollar signs for eyeballs are pushing to develop a rocket launch facility nearby. If that goes through, you’ll probably hear about it.

• I was born in Port Arthur, Tx. Home to Janis Joplin and Jimmy Johnson. 
    I graduated from South Park High School in Beaumont, Tx. Home to arguably one of the best Women athletes of the 20th Century - Babe Didrikson Zaharias. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Babe_Didrikson_Zaharias
    Beaumont is also the site of the Spindletop oil field. It was one of the first major oilfield and one of the largest in U.S. History.
    The city is located on the Neches River which is a natural deep draft river and became one of the major defense ship building ports in World War II. 

At one time in the early 1970s, there were more professional football players from Beaumont than any other city in the country. Some of the notables were: Jerry Ball, Mel Far, Jerry Levias, Bob Pollard and Bubba Smith. Notable Baseball players include Frank Robinson and Gus Zernial. Pro Bowler David Ozio (11 Titles). 

Famous musicians: Tracy Byrd, Mark Chestnutt, George Jones, Blind Willie Johnson, Clay Walker, Edgar Winter and Johnny Winter.