Home Ask an Expert
Options

tobacco brands for starters

I am VERY new to pipe smoking. I have become very interested in pipe smoking in a way of relaxing in my man cave with a scotch some music or sitting by a fire at night with some beers :-). I used to be a cigarette smoker for about 10 years. I quit just because I wasn't enjoying it anymore.  

My question is this I bought some Cherokee Mellow which by research is a pretty mellow blend not to sweet nor woody nor strong. for a first timer was this a good idea? I know everyone has there choosing tastes etc.... I got my info from tobaccoreviews.com and there is no rating on Cherokee which has me a little worried. There is a lot on mac baren, Peterson which these are a few I was looking into. 

Thank you for all your input :-) 

Comments

• Options
    HawkeyetedHawkeyeted Newcomer
    edited January 2018
    In my opinion, there's no "right" or "wrong" blend for beginners.  If you like a blend, you like it, and if you don't, you don't.  However, if you're just looking for recommendations, there's many here that will chime in.

Tobacco Reviews is a great resource.  Once you start to discover what you have a taste for, you can data-mine their database blends that match your tastes.  It also will pay dividends if you learn the difference between types of tobacco (Virginia, Perique, Burley, Latakia), blends (Aromatic, Non-Aromatic, English, Scottish, etc.), and process (Cavendish, casing, topping, types of curing, etc.).  

That said, in my personal experience, I just tried everything I could get my hands on and kept notes of what I liked and what I didn't like.  I discovered that I'm not a big fan of Burley or Kentucky dominant blends and that I love Virginia's, Virginia/Perique (VaPer) blends, Latakia and Cavendish. I just started looking for tobaccos that contained the types and processes that I liked.

It's all about you discovering what you like and don't like.  That's the adventure we're all on.
  • Options