Home General
Options

SOLAR PANELS, STORAGE BATTERIES & ELECTRIC CARS

As you guys may have surmised from some of my previous posts, I'm a bit of a tech nerd as well as a gear head and a building tech enthusiast.

One the things I tend to read about on a very regular basis is the convergence of technologies.  As luck would have it, Elon Musk seems to be leading the charge in these very fields.

So, I've been thinking a lot here lately about selling our house that we've lived in for the last 12 to 13 years and building an energy efficient (zero net energy or + net energy) house incorporating a solar roof, whole house storage battery and getting at least one electric car.

I thought I'd poll the crowd here and see if anyone else shares the same interests and whether or not anyone has done this?

dino

Comments

• Options
    I too am very interested in getting off the grid and being as self sufficient as possible, as little overhead per month as possible.  I like natural energy not because of global warming (which i do not believe in anyhow) but for my own longevity and quality of life.  I like the idea of a minimalist, have very nice things but very few things.  My last home had solar and we liked it a lot.  We relocated to Chapel Hill and now seek a more self-sustaining residence, grow some of our own food, solar with storage and we already have a hybrid electric car that gets 40+ miles to gallon (seems odd to speak gallons for electric but it gives you an idea). We live in very uncertain times.  Jobs are very insecure, the world is on edge and im sick of being monitored by technology. I definitely want to get the hell out.
  • Options
    Londy,

great points!

I too am interested in all of the above.  My motivations are not at all related to reducing my carbon footprint.  I too think that that whole bag of hair is a load of hooey.