Home General

Local Pipe Shops

Comments

• jfreedyjfreedy Master
    edited April 2018
    The yellow tins are their house blends but they may very well be made by someone else today.
  • @jfreedy What a lovely sight. No pipe shops around me anymore. So looking at the pictures you posted are like stepping back in time. The place has the look of a old neighborhood pharmacy back in the 50s'. Being that I'm a resident of Indiana I don't know a thing about the shop or it's history ... but I'd say by the look of it the shop remains unchanged since the day it opened. It's got the nostalgic charm of the old stores and shops I'd frequent during my youth in the 50s'. Family owned specialty shops like camera stores, TV repair shops that had a machine in the corner for testing the TV tubes to see which one was faulty, shoe repair shops, neighborhood convenience stores that seemed to carry a little of everything ... especially a vast supply of penny candy, little hole in the wall stores that sold paperback books and magazines, Mom & Pop drug stores, toy stores, and even the neighborhood tobacco shops. Looking at that photo brought them all back to me.     
  • jfreedyjfreedy Master
    @ghostsofpompeii - It absolutely is like stepping back in time. I wish now I would have bought some of their tobacco. Just couldn’t find any that really “spoke” to me. We still have a few storied old pipe shops in Oklahoma (specifically, Ted’s in Tulsa), but this place was pretty special. Plus, the old guys behind the counter had that wonderful thick Boston accent that was the icing on the cake. 
  • qmechanicsqmechanics Apprentice