Home General
Options

Blend Stacking

Although I've been smoking for several decades I was completely unaware of the existence of a vibrant Pipe Smoking Community and the notion of pipe smoking as a hobby. So you can imagine my surprise when I discovered the extensive YouTube Pipe Community populated by friendly, informative, and highly entertaining Pipe Presenters and personalities - as well as an active on-line discussion groups like The Pipeline. This is all fairly new to me. So with that in mind, if I bring up a topic that's been discussed ad nauseam please forgive me ... I'm a newbie and not quite up to speed.

I imagine everything under the sun pertaining to pipe smoking has been discussed by seasoned pipe smokers, but in my 50+ years of smoking I never considered doing this until yesterday. So maybe it's not such a common practice, and worthy of discussion.

And that is ... stacking blends.

I'm not talking about hand-mixing a combination of blends like a groomer shampooing a poodle, but meticulously layering and packing three or more separate and distinct tobacco blends in the pipe bowl like a brick layer, stacking one on top of the other. Creating a pipe smoking experience akin to eating three-layered Neapolitan ice cream one flavor at a time.

I've only tried this with heavily cased flavored aromatic blends so I'm not sure if it would create the same effect with non-aromatic English blends. And the blends I selected were harmonious flavor combinations that normally compliment one another, and not some juxtaposition of clashing flavors that jar the taste buds into submission.